Week 3 – Professional learning

Attended the Dept Innovation Showcase on Monday as a big bit of Professional learning for this week !

I usually come out of these days with mixed emotions –

  • a sense of awe at the wonderful things people are doing and their enthusiasm and skills
  • a feeling of inadequacy as I feel that I am not far enough along the path they are
  • inspired and rejuvenated with fresh ideas to try

and today was no different !!

Things to explore after today – Edmodo (like Twitter but safe for kids)  heaps of iPod Apps, use of video and blogs for student ePortfolios.  That’s enough (not all by any means) but an achievable goal.

I have seen a number TED Talks – Are schools killing creativity ? Sir Ken Robinson is a well known one.  One that is not directly related to education but absolutely blows me away is Theo Jansen creates new creatures.  I did use it with a group of children when were looking at an Inquiry unit on Inventions.. It is just a great example of thinking outside the square !  I think we are lucky there are people in the world to do this stuff as it is certainly not going to be me and my feeble brain.

One thought on “Week 3 – Professional learning

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *