Connecting the Dots

In an attempt to increase the regularity of my writing I have signed up for a challenge : YourEdustory.  I am notoriously bad at completing things like this but, as with all resolutions we start off with great intentions and see how it goes.   The challenge is to post each week and topics are provided if you require inspiration.  Similar to the Student Blogging challenge, this also comes with the added benefit that participants are encouraged to visit each others’ blogs.  I have already enjoyed browsing a new set of blogs and in particular liked the analogy formed by Bjorn Paige in Baseline.

YourEduStory

Week 1 – What is your “one word” that will inspire you in your classroom or school in 2015?

I am off on a tangent already but nevertheless inspired to consider how I will attempt to connect all the ideas, projects, demands and dreams in my head and on my working agenda into a realistic and achievable workload for 2015. Reflecting on 2014 has me regretting so many missed opportunities, moments I wish I could have had more impact as well as celebrating some rewarding successes.

Every day we all make decisions about what we prioritise or how we can work smarter to achieve goals – working in a number of roles, I struggle with working out how to make an impact in a very short timespan in each situation – what is the best way to use my time? Where should I set my priorities?

So I don’t have a word, but more a challenge – How to connect the dots? The dots are the possibilities.  Some converge, others get lost in the crowd, hopefully more will be achieved!

5 thoughts on “Connecting the Dots

  1. Hi Celia,
    Thanks for sharing this post and sharing the challenge. After reading this, I’ve joined it as well.

  2. This is so true! I too, have trouble with following through on ideas, or I’ll start something only to have my attention drawn away in a different direction; never to return to the first thing on my “list”. This is a wonderful way to start this blogging Challenge. I look forward to reading your future posts!

  3. This reminds me of the frustration we can feel when we see SO MANY great tools and strategies and projects out there (thanks to the black hole of amazing teachers on Twitter). When talking to teachers who want to finally try bringing new tech to their students, I suggest they pick just one. Just try one cool new thing and see how it goes…

  4. Excellent Corinne
    I often need some inspiration for the topics and this should be helpful. It is also nice to know there is a keen audience who are likely to read and comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *